WEEK 8 – Words Quiz

I enjoyed reading chapter 9 of the textbook by Hicks, English for Journalists. This chapter explains why many errors can occur when using language that does not convey the exact meaning or when words are exaggerated in context.

My first attempt was poor, scoring only 70%. Having answer a question about exaggeration incorrectly, I had assumed that the number of positions also referred to the number of people in those positions. This of course is technically inaccurate, according to the explanation provided, therefore I am still struggling to identify the difference in this question.

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 12.37.52 pm

I received 100% on my second attempt which only came down to revising the previous attempt.

Leave a Reply

